ToolsCompareBlog Download

ClockWage44 vs Shift Day Work Calendar: Spoke

Shift Day Work Calendar: Spoke is a color-coded shift calendar with rotation auto-fill. See how it compares with ClockWage44 on pay, overtime and export.

Disclosure: ClockWage44 is our app. This comparison is written honestly, including the places where Shift Day Work Calendar: Spoke is the better fit. Ratings and pricing are from the US App Store via the iTunes Search API, as of September 2026.

Quick answer

Shift Day Work Calendar: Spoke by PIXO Incorporation, which the developer calls Spoke throughout its own description, is a shift calendar first and an hours or pay tracker second. You tap shifts onto a color-coded month view, apply a rotation and let the calendar fill itself, and add memos to a day. A home-screen widget shows what is next. It has been on the App Store since 2015 and was updated in September 2026. The pay side is the gap. The listing’s one sentence about tracking hours says you can track your working days and hours with minimal effort. It never mentions a pay rate, an overtime rule or a tax.

ClockWage44, listed on the App Store as Hours Tracker: Time + Pay, is built for the part that listing leaves out. You enter a start time, an end time and break minutes, and it works out gross and net pay using federal and state income tax, Social Security and Medicare, overtime rules, shift differentials, tips and recurring deductions. It is free to download, with Pro sold as a subscription. The listing does not say which features the free tier includes.

If you need next month’s rotation laid out in color and shared with your family, that is Shift Day Work Calendar: Spoke. If you need to know what those shifts actually pay after tax, that is ClockWage44.

Side-by-side

FeatureClockWage44Shift Day Work Calendar: Spoke
PlatformsiOS + AndroidiOS + Android
US App Store rating4.43 (7 ratings)4.71 (14,349 ratings)
Google Play rating4.9 (17 reviews)4.3 (384 reviews)
Last updatedAugust 2026 (v1.0.4)September 2026 on iOS (v3.4.3), July 2026 on Android
Free-tier limitsNot statedNot spelled out on the store page
Paid plansPro - Weekly $3.99, Pro - Annual $29.99Month $4.99, Year $34.99, Yearly Special Offer $24.99, Pro Upgrade Now $2.99, Pro Upgrade $79.99
Shift and hours loggingYes, start time, end time, break minutes and notesYes, as calendar entries added or removed with one tap
Shift calendar with rotation auto-fillNot statedYes, add a rotation and the calendar fills itself
Overtime rulesYes, daily past 8 hours, weekly past 40, or manual, with custom multipliersNot stated
Tax and net pay estimateYes, federal and state income tax for all 50 states and DC, plus Social Security and MedicareNot stated
Pay rate and earnings reportYes, gross and net update as you enter a shiftNot stated on the listing; reviewers describe one
BreaksYes, break minutes per shiftNot stated
Tips and bonusesYes, taxable or notNot stated
DeductionsYes, 401(k), HSA, health insurance, union dues, garnishmentsNot stated
Shift differentialsYes, evening, night, weekend and holiday pay, added in version 1.0.3, June 2026Not stated
Multiple jobs / profilesYes, separate rate, color and tax settings per jobNot stated as a feature; the listing sells color-coded shift types
RemindersYes, clock-in and clock-out reminders per jobYes, push notifications for shift events and day memos
Schedule sharingNot statedYes, Group Calendar, plus email, SMS, print or photo album
Home-screen widgetNot statedYes, upcoming shifts without opening the app
ExportYes, PDF reports and CSVNo file export stated; emailing and sharing the monthly view only
Languages1 (English)31
AdsNo, and the App Store and Google Play listings agreeYes, the Google Play listing is flagged as containing ads
Account requiredNoNot stated
Data stays on deviceYes, local with no account requiredNot stated; the listing offers iCloud sync across iPhone and iPad and shared Group Calendars
Privacy labelDeclares no data used to track youDeclares Identifiers and Usage Data used to track you
Feature comparison as of September 2026, based on each app’s US App Store listing, description, in-app purchase list and privacy label. Google Play figures are labeled as such.

Where Shift Day Work Calendar: Spoke wins

It is a shift calendar first, and that is the whole point. Its listing sells a month view you can read at a glance. You add or remove a shift with a single tap, color-code shift types and give them short names, and add memos for the rest of the day’s events. Nothing in ClockWage44’s listing does that job. If what you want is to open an app and see who is working when, this one is built for it and ClockWage44 is not.

Rotation auto-fill saves the worst part of the data entry. The description promises an intuitive rota interface and says you can add your rotation and automatically fill the calendar in a few simple steps. Reviewers say the auto-fill handles patterns that do not repeat weekly: one describes a 4-on 2-off cycle filling itself instead of being typed in day by day. ClockWage44 has no rotation feature on its listing, so you enter every shift by hand.

On the App Store since 2015, with a rating base to match. On the US App Store it holds 4.71 from about 14,300 ratings, against ClockWage44’s 4.43 from 7 ratings. The Google Play numbers are smaller: 4.3 from 384 reviews, in a 10K+ downloads bucket. The Android build was last updated in July 2026, about six weeks behind the iOS one. Reviewers say it is simple and fast to pick up, and a run of them are nurses and other healthcare shift workers. Reviewers also say color-coding shifts is the feature they keep.

Sharing a schedule with other people. Group Calendar sharing and invites appear in the current release notes, and the listing also offers emailing your shift events or sharing the monthly view by SMS, print or photo album. Since version 3.4.0 in July 2026 you can import shifts from an image, which matters if your employer posts the rota as a photo. It is also listed in 31 languages, against one for ClockWage44. Test the sharing before you rely on it, though. Some reviewers mention that a shared calendar showed nothing for the person they invited.

Where ClockWage44 wins

It answers the pay question, and the other app’s listing never raises it. Enter a start time, an end time and break minutes, and gross and net pay update as you type. The tax side is stated on the listing: federal and state income tax for all 50 states and DC, Social Security, Medicare and additional Medicare. Shift Day Work Calendar: Spoke states none of that.

Overtime and differentials are rules, not arithmetic you do yourself. ClockWage44 offers daily overtime past 8 hours, weekly past 40, or manual, with custom multipliers. The June 2026 update added daily 10 and 12 hour and weekly 44 and 48 hour thresholds, plus evening, night, weekend and holiday differentials. Recurring tips, bonuses and reimbursements can be marked taxable or not. Recurring deductions cover 401(k), HSA, health insurance, union dues and garnishments.

You can hand the result to someone. PDF reports formatted for an employer or accountant, and CSV for spreadsheets. Shift Day Work Calendar: Spoke states no file export, only emailing shift events and sharing the monthly view.

No ads, no account, data on the device. ClockWage44 says No ads, ever. It works offline, requires no account, and its App Store privacy label declares no data used to track you. Shift Day Work Calendar: Spoke is flagged as containing ads on Google Play, and its App Store privacy label declares Identifiers and Usage Data used to track you. And if you work more than one job, ClockWage44 keeps a separate rate, color and tax setting for each.

Pricing

  • ClockWage44 is free to download, and what the free tier includes is not stated on the listing. Pro is $3.99 a week or $29.99 a year, with no introductory offer and a 7-day free trial.
  • Shift Day Work Calendar: Spoke is free to download, and what the subscription adds is not spelled out on the store page. Its App Store purchase list shows Month-Subscription at $4.99, Year-Subscription at $34.99, a Yearly Subscription Special Offer at $24.99, Pro Upgrade Now at $2.99 and Pro Upgrade at $79.99. Its own description says the subscription is $2.99 monthly or $24.99 annually, figures that line up with the Pro Upgrade Now and Yearly Subscription Special Offer entries rather than with Month-Subscription and Year-Subscription. No trial length is stated. Google Play quotes the range $2.99 to $79.99 per item and names no plans. The paywall is a recurring complaint in reviews, and a handful of long-time users are unhappy that a one-time purchase became a subscription after the app was renamed from Shift Days.

A year on the annual plans is $29.99 for ClockWage44 and $34.99 for Shift Day Work Calendar: Spoke, or $24.99 if its Yearly Subscription Special Offer is showing when you subscribe.

Which one should you pick?

Pick Shift Day Work Calendar: Spoke if your schedule is a rotation, you want it color-coded on a calendar you can share with family, and you are fine working out pay yourself. It has been on the App Store since 2015, holds about 14,300 US ratings and is listed in 31 languages.

Pick ClockWage44 if the number you care about is what lands in your bank account: overtime rules, differentials, tips, deductions and federal and state tax resolved into a take-home figure, with PDF and CSV to send on, no ads and no account.

Nothing stops you running both, one for the calendar and one for the pay. If you just want a number today, our free overtime calculator and take-home pay calculator run in the browser with nothing to download. For the wider field, see our best hours tracker apps roundup.

Frequently asked questions

Does Shift Day Work Calendar: Spoke calculate your pay?

Its App Store listing never mentions a pay rate, an overtime rule or a tax estimate. Reviewers describe setting a pay rate and getting an earnings report, so something like it appears to exist, but it is not on the store page. ClockWage44 states the pay side on its listing: overtime past 8 hours a day or 40 a week with custom multipliers, federal and state income tax for all 50 states and DC, Social Security and Medicare, plus tips, bonuses and recurring deductions.

What does Shift Day Work Calendar: Spoke cost?

It is free to download. The App Store in-app purchase list shows Month-Subscription at $4.99, Year-Subscription at $34.99, a Yearly Subscription Special Offer at $24.99, Pro Upgrade Now at $2.99 and Pro Upgrade at $79.99. Its own description says the subscription is $2.99 monthly or $24.99 annually, figures that line up with the Pro Upgrade Now and Yearly Subscription Special Offer entries rather than with Month-Subscription and Year-Subscription. ClockWage44 is free to download with Pro at $3.99 a week or $29.99 a year, with no introductory offer and a 7-day free trial.

Does Shift Day Work Calendar: Spoke show ads?

Its Google Play listing is flagged as containing ads, and its App Store privacy label declares a Third-Party Advertising purpose and Advertising Data under Data Used to Track You. The App Store side is otherwise silent on ads. ClockWage44 says No ads, ever, and its App Store and Google Play listings both record no advertising.

Which app handles a rotating shift pattern better?

Shift Day Work Calendar: Spoke. Its listing sells rotation auto-fill directly: add your rotation and the calendar fills itself in a few steps. Reviewers say the auto-fill copes with patterns that are not weekly, such as a 4-on 2-off cycle. ClockWage44 has no rotation feature on its listing; you enter each shift.

Can you export a timesheet from either app?

ClockWage44 exports PDF reports formatted for an employer or accountant and CSV for spreadsheets. Shift Day Work Calendar: Spoke states no file export on its listing. It offers emailing your shift events and sharing the monthly view by email, SMS, print or photo album.

Is Shift Day Work Calendar: Spoke the same app as Spoke: Shift Calendar Planner on Google Play?

Yes. The same app is listed on Google Play as Spoke: Shift Calendar Planner by PIXO Inc, package co.pixo.spoke. The App Store lists it as Shift Day Work Calendar: Spoke by PIXO Incorporation. The two stores carry different figures: 4.71 from about 14,300 ratings on the App Store, 4.3 from 384 reviews on Google Play.